Who is Brenning Dragonbred? Part Two: Electric Boogaloo

“Why the name Brenning Dragonbred?  Why not your real name?”

Brenning Dragonbred IS my real name!  Well, not exactly my real name, but it is in there.  It is actually an anagram of my real name, and the initials are still the same too.  Between playing games and writing my own stories, I often need to come up with cool or interesting sci-fi and fantasy names for characters.  I was toying with an anagram generator one day and on a whim decided to type in my own name.  There were some interesting results and plenty of partial names that I either have since used or have written down for future use.  But this one I claimed for my own.  I like dragons and I wanted to have a name for a “me” character without using my real name since my first name is a very, very common name.

Doesn’t it have the feel of a name from a fantasy setting?

The best part is, it sounds like it belongs to a strong character, someone who has bonded with dragons or who is a dragon hybrid or something cool like that.  But in reality, I (and by extension, any “me” character) am more like Joxer from Xena: Warrior Princess.

GoofyJoxer01

“So what kind of character is the fictional Brenning Dragonbred, then?”

There is not any one specific character type.  In EverQuest 2, Brenning is an Aerakyn Beastlord based out of Qeynos.  In Second Life, Brenning is (as of the time I type this) a blue alien dog thing.  In the fantasy story I’m currently working on, Brenning is a human that bonded with a dragon that found him as a sick child.  There are some similarities between the characters, but for the most part they are all very separate characters who just happen to share a name.

“How about the “real” one, then?  What kind of character is he?”

Comedy sidekick and/or eccentric relative that isn’t mentioned or acknowledged most of the time.  With kids, I’m the “fun uncle/big brother” that they do not believe is actually a grown up (I say that I collect action figures, but really I open them and display most of them.  Can you honestly say you would buy a Transformers figure and NOT open it to change it between forms?  I didn’t think so!).

“Is there a Mrs. Dragonbred?”

No, there is not.  She hasn’t arrived from the mail order bride service yet

“Do you think anybody is going to actually read this?”

I doubt it.  I’m not that interesting.  Probably just a few bored people, a few friends who will probably unfriend me shortly after reading it and people who are looking for Dragon Bread and mistype.  And my mom and grandma because they are nosy like that.

“Just out of curiosity, are you insane?”

Probably a little bit, yes.

Leave a Reply

