Fantasy Faire Blogger Challenge – Why I Relay

So, over on the Fantasy Faire blog, they have a little thingie going on for folks to tell why they participate in the Relay for Life events.

I don’t have a cool photo like some folks do, but I figured I could still ramble on a bit (and hey, it might make sense!).

So why do I do it?  Many, many reasons, but I can at least list a few that are important (to me, anyway).

I’m a cancer survivor myself, having been diagnosed with Leukemia (specifically Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia) when I was only 4 years old.  While there have been leaps in treatment over the years, I dream that there will come a time when no child ever has to go through what I and many others have gone through.

I also hope against all hope that someday, nobody will lose someone they care about to cancer.  I’ve lost friends, parents lost their children, children have lost parents, kids lost siblings…  Maybe someday we won’t have to worry about that anymore.

I do this for the people who are no longer with us.  I do this because, for some reason I’ll never know, I’m still here.  I do this because I CAN.

Leave a Reply

